Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Carrera española      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Africa descends on Cape Town

Africa Cross Country Championships - Keurboom Park

Africa Cross Country Championships - Keurboom Park

For the second time in two years, Africa’s elite will descend onto Cape Town for the running of the 2nd CAA African Cross Country Championships. On 18 March, 2012 some 173 athletes from 19 countries will be racing around the 2km loop at Keurboom Park for the title of African Cross Country Champion.

“To be hosting the African Cross Country Championships for the second year in succession is a huge honour for the country and for Athletics South Africa. It firmly puts us on the map in global terms as a nation that can host major athletics championships. Bidding for a World Cross Country Championships is something we may consider in future,” said Athletics SA President James Evans.

With no World Cross Country Championships taking place in 2012 (the World Championships take place every odd-numbered year), the importance of the African Championships has been elevated and the top African athletics nations such as Kenya, Ethiopia, Eritrea and Uganda will be sending a full contingent of their best athletes to Cape Town.

Teams are made up of a maximum of six athletes, with four to count, per race, Senior Men (12km), Senior Women (8km), Junior Men (8km) and Junior Women (6km), bringing the total per nation to 24.  In 2011 Kenya dominated the championships by winning both the individual and team categories in all four races. The chances of such dominance being displayed again in 2012 are not high, as virtually every country has sent a full complement of athletes and Uganda and Ethiopia are sure to provide the Kenyans with stiffer opposition than they received in 2011.

The full list of teams entered are: South Africa, Kenya, Eritrea, Morocco, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Congo, Egypt, Uganda, Mauritius, Rwanda, Mozambique, Zambia, Angola, Botswana, Sudan, Namibia, Swaziland and Malawi.

The Africa Cross Country Championships will take place at the Western Province Cricket Club grounds in Keurboom Park with the first race starting at 10:00.

10:00 Junior Women – 6km

10:30 Junior Men – 8km

11:10 Medal Ceremony – Juniors

11:30 Senior Women – 8km

12:10 Senior Men – 12km

12:50 Development Run Juniors – 4km

Speak Your Mind