Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Carrera española      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Gelant wins SA 10km title

Elroy Gelant on course to the 2012 SA 10km title

Elroy Gelant on course to the 2012 SA 10km title

19 May – Elroy Gelant (CNW) won the men’s title at the SA 10km Championships ahead of defending champion Lucky Mohale (CGA) in cold conditions at the Diskobolos Defence Force Sport Grounds in Kimberley.  Gelant clocked 28:36, improving his 6th place finish time of 2011.

The race was off to a very quick start with Mohale leading from the gun, his goal, to dip under the 28min mark.  Stephen Mokoka (AGN), Gladwin Mzazi (AGN), Kgosi Tsosane (AGN), Elroy Gelant (ACNW), and Frik Guys (CGA) were just some of the athletes to make out part of the leading group.

Gelant broke away from the group just after the 8km mark. At the 9km mark Mohale and Desmond Mokgobu (CGA) were falling further behind with Mokoka and Mzazi trailing even further.
“The race started very fast and I was very comfortable throughout.  It was after the 7km mark that I realised that I can do it,” said Gelant after the race.  “This race is a great test of my fitness as I will be travelling overseas soon to run the 5000m.”  Gelant will be trying to qualify for the Olympic Games in the 5000m.

Second place finisher Lucky Mohale clocked 28:49 with teammate Desmond Mokgobu crossing the line third in 28:54.  Stephen Mokoka and Joel Monne finished in 28:55 and 28:59 respectively.

24-year-old Irvette van Blerk (CGA) claimed victory in the women’s race ahead of teammate Lebo Phalula.  Van Blerk, who has qualified for the Olympic Games in the marathon, won the race in 33:21. “I really did not think I was going to win.  Lebo started so fast that I only caught up at the 5km mark.  It was really tough,” said Van Blerk after mentioning that Lebo started the race like she was running the 3000m.

After doing most of the hard work, Lebo crossed the line second in 33:37.  Portia Ngwenya (AGN) finished third in 34:13.  Christine Kalmer (CGA) and Zintle Xiniwe (WPA) finished 4th and 5th, their times 34:15 and 34:45 respectively.

Sithembile Dondolo (CGA) won the junior men’s race ahead of Adam Lipshirtz (KZNA) and Dithetogo Poncho (AGN) in 31:05.  Lipshirtz clocked 31:17 while Poncho crossed the line in 31:40.  In the junior women’s race Thabisa Sirayi claimed victory in 35:48 with Monique Stander (36:14) from CGA and Gauteng North’s Olivia Labuschagne (36:41) finishing in silver and bronze positions respectively.

photo credit: Martin J van Schalkwyk

Speak Your Mind