Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Carrera española      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

James Evans new president for Athletics South Africa


James Evans

James Evans

James Evans received the most votes and has been elected as the new president for Athletics South Africa (ASA) during the elections held on July 30, 2011 at the Garden Court hotel OR Tambo. This comes after former President, Leonard Chuene and Vice-President Kakata Maponyane was banned by SASCOC due to the Caster Semenya gender debacle.
James Evans was one of nine candidates for the top spot and received 25 of the 54 votes to win the race for ASA President. The other candidates included James Mokoka (AGN), Motlatsi Keikabile (ANWN), Harold Adams (BOLA), James Moloi (CGA), Hendrick Ramaala (CGA), Aleck Skhosana (KZNA), Tshifiwa Makhoshi (LIMA) and William Mokatsanyane (SASA).

“There was a lively debate before the elections.  It was a long and difficult process, but we can move forward now,” said Evans after the being elected.

At the same time, Motlatsi Keikabile (Athletics North West) got elected as the new vice-president of ASA. She received 26 votes. The other candidates in the running were Godfrey Goliath (Eastern Province Athletics), William Mokatsanyane (South African Schools Athletics Committee), Micheal Mbabane (Eastern Province Athletics), and Glen Bentley (University Sport South Africa Athletics).

Hendrick Ramaala (CGA), Aleck Skhosana (KZNA), James Moloi (Central Gauteng Athletics) and Geraldine Pillay withdrew their names.  Harold Adams (Boland Athletics) was withdrawn by the nominator.

The elections were held under supervision of SASCOC and the Department of Sport and Recreation as independent bodies. Parties that voted were the provinces (2 votes each), 7 associates (1 vote each), 4 commissions (1 vote per member) and the board (1 vote each). Voting took place by means of ballot.

Speak Your Mind