Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Carrera española      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Semenya selected for Benin

Caster Semenya

Caster Semenya

30 May – Caster Semenya, along with 75 other athletes, has been selected to represent South Africa at the CAA Africa Senior Championships in Porto Novo, Benin from 27 June – 1 July 2012.

Semenya, the 2011 World Championships 800m silver medallist, has already qualified for the Olympic Games and needs to compete at the Championships as part of the selection criteria agreed on with SASCOC. (Full criteria and exceptions are available on the Athletics South Africa website).  On 5 April, Semenya broke the 2min barrier for the first time on South African soil since Zelda Pretorius ran 1:58.85 in 1991, clocking 1:59.60, her best this season.  Semenya has only represented South Africa at one Africa Championships in 2009 as junior athlete in Bambous, Mauritius.


Also in the team is World Championship 400m hurdles bronze Medallist, LJ van Zyl.  The 26-year-old from Gauteng North became the first track and field athlete to qualify for the Olympic Games on 5 April.  Van Zyl will be looking to win his 4th straight African title in Benin after winning in 2006, 2008 and 2010.

2008 Olympic silver medallist, Khotso Mokoena will also be looking at defending his title at the Africa Championships in the men’s long jump.  After losing his National Title in windy conditions in Port Elizabeth, Mokoena bounced back and reached the Olympic Qualifying A-standard at the Yellow Pages III meeting in Pretoria on 20 April with a leap of 8.29m.  Mokoena recently competed at the Diamond League in Doha on 11 May, finishing second with 8.10m.

Sunette Viljoen currently holds the Africa and South African record in the women’s javelin throw and has also qualified for the Olympic Games.  The 29-year-old will be competing at her fifth Africa Championships this year and with her brilliant track record (gold in 2004, 2008, 2010 and silver in 2006).  The reigning champion won bronze in Daegu at the World Championships in September 2011 with 68.38m.  Her best this season is 61.84m in Ostrava on 25 May.

Please see the full team below:





Simon Magakwe (CNW) 100m, 200m
Roscoe Engel (WPA) 100m
Hannes Dreyer (AGN) 100m
Anaso Jobodwana (BORA) 200m
Thuso Mpuang (AFS) 200m
Lebogang Moeng (ANWN) 400m
Oscar Pistorius (AGN) 400m
Ofentse Mogawane (ANWN) 400m
Andre Olivier (CNW) 800m
Mbulaeni Mulaudzi (CGA) 800m
Rynhardt van Rensburg (AFS) 800m
Johan Cronje (AFS) 1500m
Juan van Deventer (CGA) 1500m
Peter van der Westhuizen (CGA) 1500m
Gladwin Mzazi (AGN) 5000m
Elroy Gelant (CNW) 5000m
Stephen Mokoka (AGN) 10 000m
Ruben Ramolefi (ANWC) 3000m St
Tumelo Motlagale (CNW) 3000m St
Junior Mkhatini (CGA) 110mH
Ruan de Vries (AGN) 110mH
Lehann Fourie (AGN) 110mH
PC Beneke (AGN) 400m H
LJ van Zyl (AGN) 400m H
Eben Beukes (CGA) PV
Heinrich Smit (WPA) PV
Ruan van Wyk (BOLA) PV
Ruan Claasen (CGA) HJ
Hubert de Beer (AGN) HJ
Khotso Mokoena (AGN) LJ
Zarck Visser (CGA) LJ
Thumelo Thagane (CNW) TJ
Burger Lambrechts (AGN) SP
Orazio Cremona (AGN) SP
Jaco Engelbrecht (CGA) SP
Victor Hogan(AFS) DT
Russel Tucker (AGN) DT
Donovan Snyman (CGA) DT
Chris Harmse (AFS) HT
Jason Henning (CNW) JT
Robert Oosthuizen (BOLA) JT
Bernard Crause (CNW) JT
Zavion Kotze (CGA) Dec
Willem Coertzen (CNW) Dec
Nardus  Greyling Dec
Marc Mundell (AGN) 20km Walk


Tsholofelo Thipe (CNW) 200m, 400m
Rorisang Ramonye (CNW) 400m
Estie Wittstock (AGN) 400m
Caster Semenya (AGN) 800m
Mandie Brandt (CGA) 800m
Mapaseka Makhanya (CGA) 800m, 1500m
Lebogang Phalula (CGA) 1500m
Lebo Phalula (CGA) 1500m
Rene Kalmer (CGA) 5000m
Noleen Conrad (CGA) 3000m St
Claudia Viljoen (AGN) 100m H
Ansulet Potgieter (AFS) 100m H
Wenda Theron (AGN) 400m H
Janet Lawless (BOLA) 400m H
Anneri Ebersohn (AGN) 400mH
Deone Joubert (AGN) PV
Jeannie van Dyk (EPA) PV
Juanita Stander (WPA) PV
Anika Smit (CNW) HJ
Bianca Erwee (CNW) HJ
Patience Ntshingila (CNW) LJ, TJ
Janice Josephs (BOLA) LJ
Lynique Prinsloo (AGN) LJ
Charlene Potgieter (AGN) TJ
Sonia Smuts (AGN) SP
Elizna Naude (AGN) DT
Maryke Oberholzer (AGN) DT
Annemie Smith (ASWD) HT
Sunette Viljoen (ACNW) JT
Gerlize de Klerk (ACNW) JT


Speak Your Mind